Busy as the Busiest Bee

Dear Reader,

2014 has been incredibly busy for this artist. That’s why I’ve been gone for so long. However, I am back and ready to update you all on some new artwork done by yours truly.

TheKingofDublin copy

Riptide Publishing contracted me to do the artwork for The King of Dublin. This, dear readers, is not the cover they chose. The authors wanted something more traditionally apocalyptic, all red and oranges instead of my lucky charms. There’s no hard feelings though. I still have a gorgeous piece to add to my portfolio and I look forward to working again with Riptide.

Here’s the blurb:

Twenty years after a deadly pandemic ravaged the world, Darragh Fearghal Anluan and the people of his village have carved out a hard but simple life in the Irish countryside. But with winter comes sickness, and Darragh must travel to Dublin in search of medicine. What he finds there is a ruined city ruled by a madman, where scavenging is punishable by death . . . or conscription.

Ciaran Daly came to Ireland with aid and optimism, but instead was enslaved by the so-called King of Dublin. After months of abuse from the king and his men, he has no reason to believe this newcomer will be any different. Except Ciaran finds himself increasingly drawn to Darragh, whose brutish looks mask how sweet and gentle he really is.

The tenderness Darragh feels for the king’s treasured pet is treason, but it’s hardly the only betrayal brewing in this rotten kingdom. Rebellions and rival gangs threaten the king’s power, but not nearly as much as Darragh and Ciaran—whose only hope for freedom is the fall of the king.

Also recently, I began working with Wolf Paw Publications. I have had a great amount of fun with these next covers.

WINTER KNIGHT FALLING: This was my first true fantasy cover. I had played with the trappings of fantasy covers but the absence of the romance here let me give something I haven’t shown before and the final product is splendid, I think.

wnfwrap1 copy

Here’s the blurb: The Four Kingdoms are in peril. A demon Lord thought forever imprisoned in limbo has escaped and begins to summon his Horde once again to take his revenge. In his twisted black iron tower he summons a massive wall of darkness that brings the winter storms in the fullest.
Now the Four Kingdoms are each proud and full of themselves. All the races of the realms must come together and fight the demon lord once again. Magic has been outlawed, and it is up to the reawakened Grand Mage, an eccentric old man, and what is left of the Mage Knights, as well as a budding Guardian to try to keep the peace.
Can the Grand Mage and his friends get the other kingdoms to move in time to stop the Demon Lord? Does the Demon Lord have more than one objective now that he is free? Only time will tell.

DARK WOOD FAE was my next project for WWP. Another fantasy novel with a different flavor.

DarkWoodFaeback-Policar copy DarkWoodFae-Policar copy

Here’s the blurb: “Fae never mingle with humans.”

All fae in Dark Wood are taught this. From the time they could understand, they were warned about the dangers of man.

Syn was a curious one, always disobeying to sate his curiosity. His curious nature often led him to trouble.

Dmytry had always been alone. He had always been drawn to Dark Wood, as if the fates themselves willed him there.

What happens when a curious fae and a lonely human meet for the first time?

What happens when goodbye isn’t an option?

SEBASTIAN’S THORNE was the third project for WPP.

Sebastian'sThorne Back copy Sebastian'sThorne copy

I am so damn proud of this cover. I used a lot of tricks in this cover that you will never see and I wouldn’t have it any other way. One, in particular, stood out for me as this is the first time i’ve used it successfully. What was it? I’ll never tell.

Here’s the blurb: “I’d loved him with everything I am.
Even as I drove Demon’s blade through his chest, I loved him.
‘Bast… Why?’
Those two words would haunt my memory forever…”

Heir to a strong clan, Sebastian Drakul has been trained and conditioned to obey the laws of his clan.
Hiding his desires from the clan’s current elder proves to be a much more difficult task than he’d anticipated when the heir to an allied clan shows up at the Keep.
Thorne had to be the most annoying male that Sebastian had ever met, he was also the heir’s most trusted friend.

Will Sebastian go against all he knows to claim Thorne’s heart?
Or will he walk away from the only male that meant anything to him when things start to get tough?

THE DIAMOND ISLES was put forth to me as a contest between me and another artist for WPP. We both designed covers and the readers got to vote which one they’d rather see. I won by a landslide and I don’t feel uncomfortable telling you that.

TheDiamondIsles2-Policar

 

That’s right. That’s a dragon. The requirements for the contest were:

  1. The title in that font in all caps.
  2. The use of a sketch of a dragon’s eye.
  3. The use of a predetermined selection of dragons

As this was only the prequel novella, I decided to keep it simple. The font and the sketch were a challenge. The font is overly ornate which meant keeping it large to keep it legible. I waffled over what to do with this sketch of a dragon’s eye. It seemed redundant to have a dragon’s eye and a dragon. I went with making it as small as I could get away with and putting it inside a medallion, hoping it would go unnoticed. However, something strange happened. The eye stopped being a nuisance and came to represent the series for me. I have the plan of using it on all future X’osha covers the way JR Ward always has that sword on the BDB books. Branding is a mighty thing, readers.

Here’s the blurb:

A strange white whelp; found by The Gateway.

The winds tell her that destruction is coming.
That the horde can no longer remain in their home;
But no one will listen.

Rose has always been different.
Being mocked, abused, and shunned;
That’s the story of her life.

The gods of her people whisper a dire warning to her.
An unknown enemy seeks The Diamond Isles.
She knows they must leave, to stay means their death.
She even knows where they must go.
She has seen their “xosha” in dreams and visions.

Will she be able to convince the Oni to leave?
Or will the things the winds spoke of come to pass?

This is by no means the end of the line, dear readers. I have many more covers to show that i’ve created over the past months and one that I hope to get the go ahead to talk about soon. I’ll keep you updated. I promise!

Until Next Time, Your Artist

 

 

Leave a Reply

